Tarzan the Terrible by Edgar Rice Burroughs

Tarzan the Terrible by Edgar Rice Burroughs

In the previous novel, during the early days of World War I, Tarzan discovered that his wife Jane was not killed in a fire set by German troops, but was in fact alive. In this novel two months have gone by and Tarzan is continuing to search for Jane. He has tracked her to a hidden valley called Pal-ul-don, which means "Land of Men." In Pal-ul-don Tarzan finds a real Jurassic Park filled with dinosaurs, notably the savageTriceratops-like Gryfs, which unlike their prehistoric counterparts are carnivorous. The lost valley is also home to two different races of tailed human-looking creatures, the Ho-don (hairless and white skinned) and the Waz-don (hairy and black-skinned). Tarzan befriends Ta-den, a Ho-don warrior, and Om-at, the Waz-don chief of the tribe of Kor-ul-ja. In this new world he becomes a captive but so impresses his captors with his accomplishments and skills that they name him Tarzan-Jad-Guru (Tarzan the Terrible), which is the name of the novel.

Table of content

Chapter 1 The Pithecanthropus

Chapter 2 "To the Death!"

Chapter 3 Pan-at-lee

Chapter 4 Tarzan-jad-guru

Chapter 5 In the Kor-ul-gryf

Chapter 6 The Tor-o-don

Chapter 7 Jungle Craft

Chapter 8 A-lur

Chapter 9 Blood-Stained Altars

Chapter 10 The Forbidden Garden

Chapter 11 The Sentence of Death

Chapter 12 The Giant Stranger

Chapter 13 The Masquerader

Chapter 14 The Temple of the Gryf

Chapter 15 "The King Is Dead!"

Chapter 16 The Secret Way

Chapter 17 By Jad-bal-lul

Chapter 18 The Lion Pit of Tu-lur

Chapter 19 Diana of the Jungle

Chapter 20 Silently in the Night

Chapter 21 The Maniac

Chapter 22 A Journey on a Gryf

Chapter 23 Taken Alive

Chapter 24 The Messenger of Death

Chapter 25 Home