Eugene Onegin — Pushkin's Novel in verse for teenagers

Eugene Onegin by Alexander Pushkin

Eugene Onegin – a novel in verse by the Russian writer and poet Alexander Sergeevich Pushkin, begun on May 9, 1823 and completed on October 5, 1831, is one of the most significant works.

Eugene Onegin is the master work of the poet whom Russians regard as the fountainhead of their literature. Set in 1820s imperial Russia, Pushkin's novel in verse follows the emotions and destiny of three men - Onegin the bored fop, Lensky the minor elegiast, and a stylized Pushkin himself - and the fates and affections of three women - Tatyana the provincial beauty, her sister Olga, and Pushkin's mercurial Muse. Engaging, full of suspense, and varied intone, it also portrays a large cast of other characters and offers the reader many literary, philosophical, and autobiographical digressions, often in a highly satirical vein.

Table of Content

Canto the First

Canto the Second

Canto the Third

Canto the Fourth

Canto the Fifth

Eugene Onegin by Alexander Pushkin

Canto the Sixth

Canto the Seventh

Canto the Eighth