Fairy tales by Oscar Wilde

Fairy tales by Oscar Wilde

Oscar Wilde
Born October 16, 1854 in Dublin, Oscar Fingal O’Flahertie Wills Wilde was a renowned Irish playwright, essayist and novelist. Wilde was the author of The Happy Prince and Other Tales, a collection of children’s fairy tales published in May 1888. All of the stories contained the same wit, enchantment and folly that filled Wilde’s other work. However, the stories for children are also social critiques, with examinations of class and poverty. Before the tales were put in print, they were first told by Wilde at dinner parties, with adults as their first audience. Wilde himself described the tales as “not for children, but for childlike people from eighteen to eighty.”

Fairy tales by Oscar Wilde


The Young King

The Birthday of the Infanta

The Fisherman and His Soul

The Star-Child

The Happy Prince

The Nightingale and the Rose

The Selfish Giant

The Devoted Friend

The Remarkable Rocket

The Model Millionaire

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde