Five Children and It Edith Nesbit

Five Children and It Edith Nesbit

Children's novel by English author E. Nesbit. It was originally published in 1902 in the Strand Magazine under the general title The Psammead, or the Gifts. The stories were then expanded into a novel which was published the same year. It is the first volume of a trilogy that includes The Phoenix and the Carpet and The Story of the Amulet.


Chapter 1. Beautiful As the Day

Chapter 2. Golden Guineas

Chapter 3. Being Wanted

Chapter 4. Wings

Chapter 5. No Wings

Chapter 6. A Castle and No Dinner

Chapter 7. A Siege and Bed

Chapter 8. Bigger Than the Baker's Boy

Chapter 9. Grown Up

Chapter 10. Scalps

Chapter 11. The Last Wish