Phoenix and carpet Nesbit Edith

Phoenix and carpet Nesbit Edith

The Phoenix and the Carpet is a fantasy novel for children, written in 1904 by E. Nesbit. It is the second in a trilogy of novels that began with Five Children and It (1902), and follows the adventures of the same five protagonists – Cyril, Anthea, Robert, Jane and the Lamb. Their mother buys the children a new carpet to replace the one from the nursery that was destroyed in an unfortunate fire accident. Through a series of exciting events, the children find an egg in the carpet which cracks into a talking Phoenix. The Phoenix explains that the carpet is a magical one that will grant them three wishes per day.


Chapter 1. The Egg

Chapter 2. The Topless Tower

Chapter 3. The Queen Cook

Chapter 4. Two Bazaars

Chapter 5. The Temple

Chapter 6. Doing Good

Chapter 7. Mews from Persia

Chapter 8. The Cats, the Cow, and the Burglar

Chapter 9. The Burglar's Bride

Chapter 10. The Hole in the Carpet

Chapter 11. The Beginning of the End

Chapter 12. The End of the End