The Secret Garden by Frances Burnett

The Secret Garden by Frances Burnett

An enchanting story of transformation and compassion, Frances Hodgson Burnett’s The Secret Garden is widely considered to be one of the most important works of children’s literature. After her parents die of cholera, Mary Lennox, a difficult and sickly little girl, is brought from India to her mysterious uncle’s sprawling estate on the Yorkshire moors. Mary continues in her self-absorbed ways until one day she discovers a hidden and neglected garden adjoining her uncle’s mansion. When she meets Ben Weatherstaff, a curt but gentle gardener, and discovers her hidden-away invalid cousin, Colin Craven, the three come together to tend the garden, and Mary’s life—as well as the lives of those around her—begins to change in unforeseen ways.


Chapter I. There is No One Left

Chapter II. Mistress Mary Quite Contrary

Chapter III. Across the Moor

Chapter IV. Martha

Chapter V. The Cry in the Corridor

Chapter VI. "There was Some One Crying —There was!"

Chapter VII. The Key to the Garden

Chapter VIII. The Robin who Showed the Way

Chapter IX. The Strangest House any one Ever Lived In

Chapter X. Dickon

Chapter XI. The Nest of the Missel Thrush

Chapter XII. "Might I Have a Bit of Earth?"

Chapter XIII. "I Am Colin"

Chapter XIV. A Young Rajah

Chapter XV. Nest Building

Chapter XVI. "I Won't!" said Mary

Chapter XVII. A Tantrum

Chapter XVIII. "Tha' Munnot Waste no Time"

Chapter XIX. "It has Come!"

Chapter XX. "I Shall Live Forever  and Ever — and Ever!"

Chapter XXI. Ben Weatherstaff

Chapter XXII. When the Sun Went Down

Chapter XXIII. Magic

Chapter XXIV. "Let Them Laugh"

Chapter XXV. The Curtain

Chapter XXVI. "It's Mother!"

Chapter XXVII. In the Garden