A Journey to the Centre of the Earth by Jules Verne

A Journey to the Centre of the Earth by Jules Verne

The intrepid Professor Liedenbrock embarks upon the strangest expedition of the nineteenth century: a journey down an extinct Icelandic volcano to the Earth's very core. In his quest to penetrate the planet's primordial secrets, the geologist--together with his quaking nephew Axel and their devoted guide, Hans--discovers an astonishing subterranean menagerie of prehistoric proportions. Verne's imaginative tale is at once the ultimate science fiction adventure and a reflection on the perfectibility of human understanding and the psychology of the questor.


Chapter 1: My Uncle Makes a Great Discovery

Chapter 2: The Mysterious Parchment

Chapter 3: An Astounding Discovery

Chapter 4: We Start on the Journey

Chapter 5: First Lessons in Climbing

Chapter 6: Our Voyage to Iceland

Chapter 7: Conversation and Discovery

Chapter 8: The Eider-Down Hunter - Off at Last

Chapter 9: Our Start - We Meet with Adventures by the Way

Chapter 10: Traveling in Iceland - the Lepers

A Journey to the Centre of the Earth by Jules Verne

Chapter 11: We Reach Mount Sneffels - the "Reykir"

Chapter 12: The Ascent of Mount Sneffels

Chapter 13: The Shadow of Scartaris

Chapter 14: The Real Journey Commences

Chapter 15: We Continue Our Descent

Chapter 16: The Eastern Tunnel

Chapter 17: Deeper and Deeper - the Coal Mine

Chapter 18: The Wrong Road!

Chapter 19: The Western Gallery - a New Route

Chapter 20: Water, Where Is It? A Bitter Disappointment

Chapter 21: Under the Ocean

Chapter 22: Sunday Below Ground

Chapter 23: Alone

Chapter 24: Lost!

Chapter 25: The Whispering Gallery

Chapter 26: A Rapid Recovery

Chapter 27: The Central Sea

Chapter 28: Launching the Raft

Chapter 29: On the Waters - a Raft Voyage

A Journey to the Centre of the Earth by Jules Verne

Chapter 30: Terrific Saurian Combat

Chapter 31: The Sea Monster

Chapter 32: The Battle of the Elements

Chapter 33: Our Route Reversed

Chapter 34: A Voyage of Discovery

Chapter 35: Discovery upon Discovery

Chapter 36: What is It?

Chapter 37: The Mysterious Dagger

Chapter 38: No Outlet - Blasting the Rock

Chapter 39: The Explosion and Its Results

Chapter 40: The Ape Gigans

Chapter 41: Hunger

Chapter 42: The Volcanic Shaft

Chapter 43: Daylight at Last

Chapter 44: The Journey Ended