Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Montgomery

Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Montgomery

Everyone's favorite redhead, the spunky Anne Shirley, begins her adventures at Green Gables, a farm outside Avonlea, Prince Edward Island. When the freckled girl realizes that the elderly Cuthberts wanted to adopt a boy instead, she begins to try to win them and, consequently, the reader, over.


Chapter 1. Mrs. Rachel Lynde is surprised

Chapter 2. Matthew Cuthbert is surprised

Chapter 3. Marilla Cuthbert is surprised

Chapter 4. Morning at Green Gables

Chapter 5. Anne's History

Chapter 6. Marilla Makes Up Her Mind

Chapter 7. Anne Says Her Prayers

Chapter 8. Anne's Bringing-up Is Begun

Chapter 9. Mrs. Rachel Lynde Is Properly Horrified

Chapter 10. Anne's Apology

Chapter 11. Anne's Impressions of Sunday-School

Chapter 12. A Solemn Vow and Promise

Chapter 13. The Delights of Anticipation

Chapter 14. Anne's Confession

Chapter 15. A Tempest in the School Teapot

Chapter 16. Diana Is Invited to Tea with Tragic Results

Chapter 17. A New Interest in Life

Chapter 18. Anne to the Rescue

Chapter 19. A Concert a Catastrophe and a Confession

Chapter 20. A Good Imagination Gone Wrong

Chapter 21. A New Departure in Flavorings

Chapter 22. Anne is Invited Out to Tea

Chapter 23. Anne Comes to Grief in an Affair of Honor

Chapter 24. Miss Stacy and Her Pupils Get Up a Concert

Chapter 25. Matthew Insists on Puffed Sleeves

Chapter 26. The Story Club Is Formed

Chapter 27. Vanity and Vexation of Spirit

Chapter 28. An Unfortunate Lily Maid

Chapter 29. An Epoch in Anne's Life

Chapter 30. The Queens Class Is Organized

Chapter 31. Where the Brook and River Meet

Chapter 32. The Pass List Is Out

Chapter 33. The Hotel Concert

Chapter 34. A Queen's Girl

Chapter 35. The Winter at Queen's

Chapter 36. The Glory and the Dream

Chapter 37. The Reaper Whose Name Is Death

Chapter 38. The Bend in the road