Anne of Avonlea by Lucy Montgomery

Anne of Avonlea by Lucy Montgomery

Anne is no longer simply "of Green Gables" as she was in the previous book, but now takes her place among the "important" people (and the "grown up" people) of Avonlea society, as its only schoolteacher. She is also a founding member of the A.V.I.S. (the Avonlea Village Improvement Society), which tries to improve (with questionable results) the Avonlea landscape.


Chapter I An Irate Neighbor

Chapter II Selling at Haste and Repenting at Leisure

Chapter III Mr. Harrison at Home

Chapter IV Different Opinions

Chapter V A Full-fledged School Ma'am

Chapter VI All Sorts of Conditions of Men...and Women

Chapter VII The Pointing of Duty

Chapter VIII Marilla Adopts Twins

Chapter IX A Question of Color

Chapter X Davy in Search of a Sensation

Chapter XI Facts and Fancies

Chapter XII A Jonah Day

Chapter XIII A Golden Picnic

Chapter XIV A Danger Averted

Chapter XV The Beginning of Vacation

Chapter XVI The Substance of Things Hoped For

Chapter XVII A Chapter of Accidents

Chapter XVIII An Adventure on the Tory Road

Chapter XIX Just a Happy Day

Chapter XX The Way It Often Happens

Chapter XXI Sweet Miss Lavendar

Chapter XXII Odds and Ends

Chapter XXIII Miss Lavendar's Romance

Chapter XXIV A Prophet in His Own Country

Chapter XXV An Avonlea Scandal

Chapter XXVI Around the Bend

Chapter XXVII An Afternoon at the Stone House

Chapter XXVIII The Prince Comes Back to the Enchanted Palace

Chapter XXIX Poetry and Prose

Chapter XXX A Wedding at the Stone House