Rilla of Ingleside by Lucy Montgomery

Rilla of Ingleside by Lucy Montgomery

Rilla of Ingleside (1921) is the eighth of nine books in the Anne of Green Gables series by Lucy Maud Montgomery, but was the sixth "Anne" novel in publication order. This book draws the focus back onto a single character, Anne and Gilbert's youngest daughter Bertha Marilla "Rilla" Blythe. It has a more serious tone, as it takes place during World War I.


Chapter 1 Glen "Notes" and Other Matters

Chapter 2 Dew of Morning

Chapter 3 Moonlit Mirth

Chapter 4 The Piper Pipes

Chapter 5 The Sound of a Going

Chapter 6 Susan, Rilla, and Dog Monday Make a Resolution

Chapter 7 A War-baby and a Soup Tureen

Chapter 8 Rilla Decides

Chapter 9 Doc Has a Misadventure

Chapter 10 The Troubles of Rilla

Chapter 11 Dark and Bright

Chapter 12 In the Days of Langemark

Chapter 13 A Slice of Humble Pie

Chapter 14 The Valley of Decision

Chapter 15 Until the Daybreak

Chapter 16 Realism and Romance

Chapter 17 The Weeks Wear By

Chapter 18 A War-Wedding

Chapter 19 They Shall Not Pass

Chapter 20 Norman Douglas Speaks Out in Meeting

Chapter 21 Love Affairs Are Horrible

Chapter 22 Little Dog Monday Knows

Chapter 23 And So, Goodnight

Chapter 24 Mary Is Just in Time

Chapter 25 Shirley Goes

Chapter 26 Susan Has a Proposal of Marriage

Chapter 27 Waiting

Chapter 28 Black Sunday

Chapter 29 Wounded and Missing

Chapter 30 The Turning of the Tide

Chapter 31 Mrs Matilda Pitman

Chapter 32 News From Jem

Chapter 33 Victory!

Chapter 34 Mr Hyde Goes to His Own Place and Susan Takes a Honeymoon

Chapter 35 Rilla-my-Rilla